Click on the text like “Week 1: Jan 22 – 25” to expand or collapse the items we covered in that week.

I will fill in more detail and provide links to lecture notes and labs as we go along. Items for future dates are tentative and subject to change.

  • Introduction; review of topics from our intro. statistics course; getting started with R

Wed, Jan 23

  • In class, we will work on: Introduction and Chapter 1
    • Discuss the syllabus; course overview.
    • Foundations of statistical inference; Chapter 1 of the Statistical Sleuth. pdf
  • After class, please do the following:

Fri, Jan 25

  • In class, we will work on: Chapter 1
    • Finish lab/example from day 1; a first look at R
    • Look over quizzes on material from Chapter 1
    • If you have extra time, start working through the data camp assignment
  • After class, please do the following:
    • Homework 0 is on DataCamp, due Wed Jan 30.
    • Start working on Homework 1, due Fri Feb 1.
    • Read Chapter 1 and Sections 2.1 and 2.2 of our book.

Chapter 2

Mon, Jan 28

  • In Class, we will do the following: Start on Sections 2.1, 2.2, and 2.5
    • Quiz
    • t-based inference for a single mean or a difference between two means with paired data.
      • Overview of concepts behind \(t\) tests and confidence intervals pdf
      • Examples of \(t\) tests and confidence intervals pdf
  • After class, please do the following:
    • Homework 0 is on DataCamp, due Wed Jan 30.
    • Start working on Homework 1, due Fri Feb 1.
    • Read Chapter 1 and Sections 2.1 and 2.2 of our book.

Wed, Jan 30

  • In Class, we will do the following: Finish Sections 2.1, 2.2, and 2.5
    • Quiz
    • Finish working through the handouts from Monday.
  • After class, please do the following:
    • Work on Homework 1, due Friday Feb 1.

Fri, Feb 1

  • In Class, we will do the following:
    • No Quiz
    • Finish working through the handouts from Monday and Wednesday.
  • After class, please do the following:
    • Work on Homework 2, due Friday Feb 8.

Mon, Feb 4

  • In Class, we will do the following:
    • Quiz on material from Chapter 1
    • Degrees of freedom
      • All you really need to know is that degrees of freedom is sample size minus number of parameters for the mean
      • More detail here: pdf
    • Discuss material from Sections 2.3, 5.2 and 6.2. pdf
  • After class, please do the following:
    • Work on Homework 2, due Friday Feb 8.

Wed, Feb 6

  • In Class, we will do the following:
    • Quiz on material from Chapter 2
    • Material from Sections 2.3, 5.2 and 6.2
  • After class, please do the following:
    • Work on Homework 2, due Friday Feb 8.

Fri, Feb 8

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Quiz on material from Chapter 1 or Chapter 2
    • Material from Sections 2.3, 5.2 and 6.2

Mon, Feb 11

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Quiz on material from Chapter 1 or Chapter 2; not on Sections 5.2 and 6.2
    • Wrap up material from Sections 2.3, 5.2, and 6.2
    • Possibly also start on material from Section 5.3??

Wed, Feb 13

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Quiz on material from Chapter 1, Chapter 2, or Sections 5.2 and 6.2
    • Discuss material from Sections 5.3 and 5.4

Fri, Feb 15

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Quiz on material from Chapter 1, Chapter 2, or Sections 5.2 and 6.2
    • Discuss material from Sections 5.3 and 5.4

Mon, Feb 18

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Discuss material from Section 5.5 and Chapter 3

Wed, Feb 20

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Discuss material from Section 5.5 and Chapter 3

Fri, Feb 22

  • In class, we will do the following:
    • Discuss material from Section 5.5 and Chapter 3

Mon, Feb 25

  • In class, we will do the following:

Wed, Feb 27

  • In class, we will do the following:

Fri, Mar 1

  • In class, we will do the following:

Mon, Mar 4

  • In class, we will do the following:

Wed, Mar 6

  • In class, we will do the following:

Fri, Mar 8

  • In class, we will do the following:

Spring Break: safe travels!

Mon, Mar 18

  • In class, we will do the following:

Wed, Mar 20

  • In class, we will do the following:

Fri, Mar 22

  • In class, we will do the following:

Mon, Mar 15

  • In class, we will do the following:

Wed, Mar 27

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Fri, Mar 29

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Mon, Apr 1

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Tue, Apr 3

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Fri, Apr 5

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Mon, Apr 8

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Wed, Apr 10

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Fri, Apr 12

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Mon, Apr 15

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Wed, Apr 17

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Fri, Apr 19

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Mon, Apr 22

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Wed, Apr 24

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Fri, Apr 26

  • In Class, we will do the following:

Mon, Apr 29

  • In Class, we will do the following:

We will have a cumulative final exam.